Strange

She was tall and tan and long legged. I had heard a boy fucked her in the bathroom of the dorms on top of the sink. I knew what it meant, but it didn’t bother me. Her smile was genuine and her hair was strawberry blonde.

“Hi, I’m James,” I said, extending my hand.

“Hi James, I knew your name already,” she said smiling. She put her hand on Tim’s shoulder. “So you know Timothy?”

I nodded. “Been my best friend since middle school,” I said, “the times I’ve had with this man.” I looked at him.

He glanced over at me drunkenly. “Yeah, Jimmy’s been my best man since the beginning. You don’t even know him,” he said, wobbling a finger close to her face.

The pretty girl laughed and stepped back, putting her hand to her mouth.

“Tim let’s go upstairs,” his girlfriend said, “we’re going to shave your back!”

He purred like a whale loudly, and they ran upstairs arm in arm.

I looked at her and smiled. “Those are our friends,” I said, motioning toward the stairs.

“I know, right?” She grinned a big smile with her tongue between her teeth.

I was struck. “Do you need a beer, or anything?” I said awkwardly.

“Of course,” she said, grabbing my hand lightly, then letting go.

As I was off to grab the beers and debate the whole certainty of herself and I, the love dumb romance that bounced in my chest and sweated on my hands, I saw Bryan. He burst through the back door, naked, and doubled over, heaving heavily. His backwards hat was doused with sweat, as was his body, and he looked up at me helplessly.

“Want to go streaking?” His voice broke innocently.

I laughed and reached into the refrigerator, grabbing the beers. “Jesus, Bryan.”

“Aw man,” he said dramatically. “You think you can grab me one of those?”

I grabbed four and gave one to him. He tried opening it to no avail as I opened mine. I took it and twisted the top in my shirt and handed it to him.

“What, you too pussy to open it with your hand?”

I looked at Bryan and he was smiling. I couldn’t be mad at him, with that goofy stare and nakedness and awesome all combined. I bowed my head in shame and handed it to him.

“Don’t let it happen again!” he screamed. He took a drink and so did I. He grinned at me. Then suddenly off he went, out through the front door and running down the middle of the street, bare assed.

I went back to the girl but she wasn’t there, so I took the three beers, headed upstairs and noticed a line for the bathroom. A few girls waited impatiently as I heard Tim purring like a whale from behind the door.

I looked at them. “Don’t worry,” I said, “she’s only shaving his back.”

The looks of horror on their faces were outstanding. I shoved between them and knocked on the door and said, “Open up, it’s James.”

He was still purring when his girlfriend opened the door. All I could see was Tim shirtless, sitting on the toilet backwards, purring very loudly and moving his body around a lot. There was shaving cream on his back and I noticed fresh swipes with the razor.

The girls in line all screamed that they needed to go.

“Fuck you man!” Tim screamed. “This is my house and my body and I can do whatever the hell I want with it.”

I agreed when I turned to them. “It is his body.”

He threw his hand up as if the matter was settled. “You can get the hell out!”

His girlfriend laughed and said, “Tim”, loudly and obnoxiously drawn out. Then she shut the door in my face.

I looked around at the girls, and excused myself. I handed one of them a beer. She thanked me in a blush.

Walking down the stairs I noticed the front door was open and porch light was on. Cigarettes and hash were being smoked, I could smell it, and I walked out. A few people said something about molly and I asked if I could join in. We went inside and walked upstairs to Tim’s room. I gave one of them a beer.

His room was decorated the same as his last room, which was back home. Jimi Hendrix tapestries hung in front of the windows. The Dead and Floyd posters lined the walls. His stereo and computer were off to the right, and his bed, covered in clothes, was against the two windows on the left. There was a few candles lit and a table filled with bongs and magazines and ashtrays in front of the bed. A place where magic happens.

One of the kids pulled out a plastic bag filled with white powder.

“Any one got a dollar bill?”

I handed him one and looked around. A girl picked up a PlayBoy and handed it to him. He split out four lines and we snorted them. I thanked him and immediately left. I had no business hanging out with that crowd. I wanted to go downstairs to talk to that long legged, fiery flame.

In the living room a man was bonging a beer with a few of his friends. I cheered him on until he almost barfed, and I excused myself again.

Out back there was a fire pit surrounded by people. Their faces flicked under the flame. The pretty girl was talking to a girl from my high school. I watched as she laughed and cheered her cup to my friend’s. Then she turned and saw me and waved a little wave, so I joined her.

“How’s it going?”

“Just fine James,” she said, cheering my cup with hers.

“Shelly, how are you darling?”

“James, I’ve missed you.” She hugged me tightly, putting her face in my chest. I put my arms around her sides and smiled at the pretty girl.

“I’ve missed you too sweetheart.” I rubbed her back. “Now, tell me your pretty friends name or else we’re not going to be friends.”

Shelly drew back angrily. “No! You’re my friend, not hers.” She clinched me once more.

“Well, I’m not trying to be friends with her, Shelly,” I said, putting my chin on her head. “If you know what I mean.”

I winked to the pretty girl, who turned her head slightly, eyeing me in a certain way. The flames seemed to glint off her eyes. She took a drink and stared at me in that same way.

I was beginning to feel the molly then. It felt good hugging Shelly. Looking at that girl, under that flame, was filling me with an unheard of happiness. I so wanted to hug her, instead of Shelly.

“Actually, never mind,” I said, surprised at myself. I then walked over to her, grabbed her waist, and said, “I would love to know your name.”

She put her arms around my neck and eyed me. Her smell filled my nostrils. more importantly, she filled up the emptiness inside of me. Or was that the molly? Either way, it was refreshing, and I felt a cool wave of pleasure come over my bones. I smiled smugly.

“Well James, this is kind of weird,” she said, searching deep in my eyes as a child would watching a cartoon; off to the side with an prone earnestness.

“I’m Jameson.”

Dumbfounded, my heart seemed to skip a beat to irony and fate and destiny and the whole shaboom.

“Jameson?” I asked with eyes raised.

“Jameson.” She smiled a beautiful, ear to ear smile, and bit her lip.

“Well then, it is so very nice to meet you.” I couldn’t take my eyes off of her. I was really beginning to feel the effects then. I didn’t want to let her go. I felt the cusp of her back, above her butt. I could feel her breath hot on my face, filling my loins. My pants seemed to tighten. Her dress, which I had not noticed before, was blowing with the wind and along with the fire. We were the only people out there, talking in front of a heating fire. I could of swore it.

I then noticed I had been staring and not saying anything to her. She was still close, so I said, “I gave away your beers.”

She drew back in satisfaction. “Yes, you did!”

I raised my hands as if to say “Come on – it’s me, James”.

That’s when the others came back for me.

One thought on “Strange

Leave a Reply

